Cricinfo Live Score

Cricinfo Match Score Ball by Ball

Australia name 16-man squad for limited-overs tour of India – The Cricket Times

Australia have named a 16-man squad for the impending limited-overs excursion of India, scheduled first of all the primary T20I on February 24 in Visakhapatnam.

Tempo spearhead Mitchell Starc, player-of-the-match after gathering 10 wickets in the second one Check towards Sri Lanka in Canberra this week, has been dominated out of the T20I and ODI excursion of India with a ‘considerable’ muscle tear.

“Sadly, scans have printed that Mitchell Starc sustained a considerable tear to his left % muscle whilst bowling at the ultimate day of the Check event in Canberra,” Australia nationwide selector Trevor Hohns stated in a remark on Thursday.

Australia will play two T20Is and 5 ODIs towards India, who received final month’s 50-over collection between the 2 groups 2-1.

Starc’s fellow paceman Josh Hazlewood remains to be sidelined with a again harm, with Kane Richardson and Nathan Coulter-Nile to get their possibilities.

“Kane has been in exceptional shape over the summer season, together with his contemporary performances within the Giant Bash League,” stated Hohns.

“Kane no longer handiest has revel in enjoying ODI cricket for Australia, however he’s additionally carried out smartly for his nation when given the chance.

“Nathan Coulter-Nile supplies us with some other high quality bowling choice,” he added.

“He brings excellent power within the box and too can rating runs in high-pressure scenarios.”

Ashton Turner, who has performed 3 T20Is, used to be additionally named within the squad.

“I’d additionally love to congratulate Ashton Turner on his variety within the squad. Ashton has been on our radar for a while, given his performances within the shorter codecs,” Hohns stated.

“Ashton is a great cricketer who reads the sport smartly and offers us with some other robust batting choice.

“He’s been in excellent shape over the summer season, and he has a chance to position his case ahead forward of the Global Cup.”

Australia squad for India excursion:

Aaron Finch (c), Pat Cummins (vc), Alex Carey (vc), Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Peter Handscomb, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Brief, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Turner, Adam Zampa.

Leave a Reply

CricInfoScore © 2018 Frontier Theme